Fuzzy Socks

January 18, 2018, Carrot Ranch Flash Fiction Challenge prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that includes boots. Whose boots are they, where do they go and what is their significance? Go where the prompt leads.

***

I looked down at the battered black boots I had shoved my feet into this gloomy morning. The only pair of shoes that would fit over my fuzzy socks. Today the frills of blue stripes poked out over the top. I thought of how Mal would’ve tackled me before letting me outside with my socks showing. Are you trying to look stupid, she would’ve asked with a smile. It’s a fashion statement, I would’ve responded. I contemplated going to change, but I decided that would’ve angered her more.

One last fashion statement”, I whispered, “just for you Mal.”

7 thoughts on “Fuzzy Socks

  1. Isn’t it weird how the smallest and most seemingly insignificant things can bring such strong memories to mind? I thought this was a very enjoyable flash.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment